The goal of The Sunday Long Read newsletter is simple: To put the past week’s best journalism in your hands every Sunday morning—or, as a friend said, “to screw up my Sundays with far too much great stuff to read.”

Obviously, compiling these lists is a wildly subjective exercise. How do we choose what’s “best?” If we finish a long-read article and immediately want to recommend it to a friend, you’ll find it linked here. These stories brought us pleasure, made us laugh and think and, most of all, told us something we didn’t know. No “hot takes” here.

At this point you’re wondering – who are “we”?  Well, these are our editors:

Don Van Natta Jr.

Don has been an investigative reporter for nearly 25 years, including his current position as senior investigative reporter for ESPN The Magazine. He has been the member of three Pulitzer Prize-winning reporting teams and is also a New York Times bestselling author. Before joining ESPN, he wrote for The New York Times, where he covered President Bill Clinton’s impeachment and the 9/11 attacks, and worked at The Miami Herald. In 2016, he was honored by the Society of Professional Journalists as a Fellow of the Society.


Jacob Feldman

Jacob  is a reporter for Sports Illustrated, where he writes primarily about the NFL. Before that, he wrote for The Washington Post, The Boston Globe, The Miami Herald, and The Charlotte Observer. At Harvard, he won 1st and 2nd place Sports Story of the Year prizes from the ACP while also earning recognition in the categories of in-depth news reporting and multimedia journalism. He was the recipient of the 2015 Thomas Wood Award for journalism.

For more, check out our FAQ page, or view past issues from our archive.